Skip to main content

Preakness Stakes Betting 2020

The Preakness Stakes is the second leg of the Triple Crown series, and it’s a widely horse race in the horse racing industry. Run on every third Saturday in May, Preakness betting draws in a crowd only second to the Kentucky Derby.

While the Kentucky Derby provides betting action at different times during the winter and spring seasons leading up to the race – known as Kentucky Derby Future Wager (KDFW), Preakness betting only happens over two days. horse and a horse shoe

The field is drawn on the Wednesday before the race. Bettors then have to wait until late Thursday to start placing bet on Preakness online, at the racetracks, simulcast centres, and Advance Deposit Wagering (ADW) platforms. The first legitimate change for Preakness betting is on the Black-Eyed Susan Day program at Pimlico racetrack.

In this guide, we’ll be looking at where you can bet on Preakness online, the different types of bets US bettors can wager on, and the race’s history and records.

Bet on the Race Online

Because markets for betting on the Preakness Stakes open just a few days before the race, it’s good to know where you can go. Below are our recommended sportsbooks for betting on the Preakness online.


$200 Bonus

98% Payout

Rating: 4.9/5

98% Payout

$200 Bonus 98% Payout - Rating: 4.9/5

$250 Bonus

97% Payout

Rating: 4.9/5

97.1% Payout

$250 Bonus 98% Payout - Rating: 4.9/5

$300 Bonus

97% Payout

Rating: 4.9/5

97% Payout

$300 Bonus 98% Payout - Rating: 4.9/5

50% Bonus

97% Payout

Rating: 4.9/5

98% Payout

50% Bonus 98% Payout - Rating: 4.9/5

50% Bonus

97% Payout

Rating: 4.9/5

98% Payout

50% Bonus 98% Payout - Rating: 4.9/5

What you’ll find in this Preakness Stakes betting guide:

Preakness Stakes Betting Types

When it comes to betting on horses and the different races, it can seem overwhelming to those who are new to it. But once you’ve read up on it, using our guide among many other on the internet, you’ll develop a good understanding.

The Preakness race raises about $50 million in bets. This may not be Kentucky Derby numbers but it comes in second. Betting on it a short and sweet event with bookies accepting wagers on the Friday before the race.

To know which wagers to go for when you want to make money off, look no further than our guide on which bets you should go for. Since the Preakness is a marquee event on the Thoroughbred racing calendar, these are the types you can use to make a bet on the Preakness:

Straight Bets

The following straight bets can be made on the race:

  • Win: your horse must finish first.
  • Place: the horse must finish first or second.
  • Show: you must get first, second, or third position

Exotic Bets

Also, Preakness Stakes betting stakes include exotic bets. These include:

  • Exacta: pick two horses to finish in first and second position, in that order.
  • Trifecta: select three horses to finish first, second, and third, in that exact order.
  • Superfecta: pick four horses that are going to finish first, second, third, and fourth in the exact order.
preakness stakes winner

Preakness Stakes History and Records

The very first race happened in 1873. It was named after the colt Preakness who won the Dinner Party Stakes by the then governor of Maryland, Oden Bowie. Initially the race struggled to establish itself. It found its home at the Pimlico racetrack in Maryland, since 1909 after spending 15 years at the Gravesend Race Track on Coney Island.

Winners of Preakness receive the famous Woodlawn Vase and are draped on a blanket of black-eyed Susans. This is the official flower of the state of Maryland.

Some of the race’s records include:

  • Fastest time goes to Secretariat set in 1973. He ran the track in 1:53.00.
  • The jockey to have the most wins in the race is Eddie Arcaro who won it six times in 1941, 1948, 1950, 1951, 1955, and 1957.
  • Most win by a trainer go to R. Wyndham Walden who has won the Preakness in 1875, 1878, 1879, 1880, 1881, 1882, 1888.

Preakness horse race results from the past six years are:

  • 2013: Oxbow
  • 2014: California Chrome
  • 2015: American Pharoah
  • 2016: Exaggerator
  • 2017: Cloud Computing
  • 2018: Justify
  • 2019: War of Will

See our guides on important US horse races:

Betting FAQs

Let’s take a look at some commonly asked questions.

When is the Preakness Stakes 2020?

It will be run on May 16 2020.

Where is the Preakness?

It is held at the Pimlico Racetrack in Baltimore, Maryland.

Check Out Our Other Sports Betting Guides

Our Score
Our Reader Score
[Total: 13 Average: 3.6]